Big square

About the
#AllForJan Award

They fight for the truth, for transparency, for freedom of speech. They want to inform, bring facts to light and empower people to take free decisions. Journalists are the heroes of democratic societies.

The #AllForJan Award recognizes best media coverage, exceptional and courageous reporting with a great impact on society and innovative ways of bringing the story to the public. The award is named after the global #AllForJan movement, which was established after the murder of Ján Kuciak, the young Slovak investigative journalist killed in 2018, to honor his work and legacy.

The #AllForJan Award was presented for the first time at the Press Freedom Conference 2020 in Gdańsk.

Winners of the
#AllForJan Award 2023

Andrei Popoviciu

Anna Myroniuk & Alexander Khrebet

The jury of the #AllForJan competition has awarded the top prize in the 2023 edition to two Ukrainian investigative reporters from Kyiv Independent: Anna Myroniuk and Alexander Khrebet. They have revealed leadership misconduct in the International Legion, the military formation created in the first days of the Russian invasion under the initiative of Ukraine's President Volodymyr Zelensky for foreigners willing to defend Ukraine. The Kyiv Independent was the first Ukrainian media outlet to report on the alleged arms theft in the country's military, and did so despite strict regulations limiting media freedom in Ukraine amid the war.

The award-winning story received international exposure, being covered in Poland’s Onet, TVN24, Gazeta Wyborcza, Fakt, Germany’s Der Spiegel and Deutsche Welle, UK’s The Telegraph and US Business Insider.

Jury of the #AllForJan Award 2023

Press Freedom Conference